Belgium is a country famous for its chocolate and inexpensive waffle. Why Belgium chocolate is so good and special? Nah, don’t ask me, you can find that out at here. I spent a day in Belgium before taking off to Berlin. If I ever visit Belgium again, I would probably visit Ghent on my next visit because on this trip I only visit Brussels.

How to get here?

Flight – Cheapest flight at GBP 44.00, 1.10 hr (from London – Brussels, Brussels Airline)
Bus – Cheapest fare at GBP 10.00, 7 hr (from London – Brussels, National Express)
Train – Cheapest fare at GBP 54.76, 2.01 hr (from London – Brussels, Eurostar)

Luggage Storage  € 6.50 for 24 hours, at Brussels Central Station

To those who only spend a day or needs to a place to store their luggage, you can find the luggage lockers at the airport or the central station.

Public Transport in Belgium

I think transportation in the Europe are really convenient with their well-connected Bus, Tram, and Metro network. You can either buy the 1 day or 3 days JUMP card, with the JUMP card, you can enjoy unlimited rides of the public transport for 1 day or 3 days. Always remember to prepare exact amount or coins while buying the ticket from the ticket machine. P/s: Don’t expect they give you the card that made of plastic, no-no! But I think this Belgium JUMP card is better than the Köln welcome card! At least, this JUMP card is like made of manila paper, harder than Köln’s welcome card.

 1-day JUMP card  € 4.50
 3-days JUMP card  € 9.50
 1-day JUMP card inc Airport Line  € 7.50

DSC00574

Day One

Cathedral Saints Michel and Saint Gudula

Les Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert

They say this was the shopping complex of the Royal Family in Belgium and now open to the public. You can find lots of chocolate stores, cafes and shops in this place.

Leonidas Chocolate – €4.50 per 100g

I really love their chocolates, they came in different variety and the price is not as high as the other chocolate stores in Belgium. My favourite was the one with praline!

Fritland – €7.50 (fries only)

I don’t know if it’s only me think that this is overrated? Look at the good side, it serves in a really good portion (big), honestly, I can’t even finish the fries because it is too much for me! If you came here with a group of friends, you guys can share a portion instead of buying each one one portion.

DSC00655

Brussels Stock Exchange

Grand Place

Everard t’Serclaes

They say it will give you fortune after you touch the statue. You can try.

Waffle – €1.50 per piece (extra charge for toppings)

Please don’t say you visited Belgium if you didn’t try their waffle! Inexpensive waffle is what it famous for in Belgium. And you get to customise your own toppings on top of the waffle. Yummeh!

Manneken Pis (Opposite of Godiva)

Don’t put your expectations on this Manneken Pis. You’ll expect to see many people gather at this place trying to get a good spot with the Manneken Pis.

DSC00700

Tin Tin Street Art

DSC00697

Royal Place

DSC00726

Parc du Cinquantenaire

DSC00736

More Photos

You can add the famous Atomium in your itinerary! I didn’t manage to see the Atomium because I was given not enough time.

That’s the end of my trip in Brussels!

Total Damaged in Brussels: € 46.25

